Your friendly (and frank) guide to the Diablo III Starter Edition

July 21, 2012 · Filed Under Guides & Reviews, Videogaming · Comment 

UPDATE (09/14/2012): The guide has been updated after Blizzard decided to let everyone access the Diablo III Starter Edition. Furthermore, I have verified without doubt that the extreme and casual slowdowns I talk about in the post are ascribable to the software configuration used to test the game and not to the game itself (or to my hardware, luckily).


Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic! Yeah, I now, I’m late as usual: Diablo III was released two months ago, and I have already talked enough about the almost complete failure of the launch period. So why devoting a post to the demo version of the game when almost everyone has already read, seen and done what there was to read, see and do in the cursed lands of Sanctuary? For two reasons, the first of which is that after having extensively played the Starter Edition I have a weight on my chest that I need to let go.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati

CPU upgrade, from T6400 to X9100. Because 3 GHz are way better than 2 GHz…

April 5, 2010 · Filed Under Guides & Reviews, Hardware & Peripherals · 15 Comments 

UPDATE: After a few months the CPU upgrade turned to be a remarkable failure. I advise anyone against this kind of practice and I invite you to read the post regarding my useless troubleshooting efforts.


Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic! I purchased my latest computer in absolute emergency conditions, and except for an annoying, sound-related issue when I extensively use the network (a fact for which I would be inclined to blame and damn Vista SP1) I’m satisfied with it until now. But being obliged to spend a limited budget obviously didn’t hinder me to upgrade the system main component, the CPU, overlapping to satisfaction the pleasure of having a fairly recent setup to let me use it in scenarios that are a little less retrograde than the ones I’m usually accustomed to.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati

Export bookmarks in HTML format on Firefox 3+

September 16, 2009 · Filed Under Guides & Reviews, Software · Comment 

Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic! Quite often innovation brings changes that imply a drastic cut with the past. This golden rule also applies to web browsers and the new generation of Mozilla Firefox in particular, which next to the many improvements and new features leaves behind bookmarks automatic saving in HTML format at the program shutdown.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati

Run Firefox & Firefox Portable side by side

November 2, 2008 · Filed Under Guides & Reviews, Software · 6 Comments 

Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic!One of undoubted benefits of open source software is its incredible adaptability to usage modes pretty different from the ones originally expected by the developers. If, in that regard, it’s ok to the majority of the users to permanently install the Mozilla Firefox browser on the system, the “transportable” version developed for the PortableApps.com suite can be exploited by whom have the need to use a testing environment at no cost for the Windows Registry or to compare the last build of the Mozilla code with the one currently installed on the PC.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati

Where to download the Cube Quest CHD?

September 28, 2008 · Filed Under Emulation & Retrogaming, Guides & Reviews · 5 Comments 

UPDATE: As widely expected, all the sources quoted in the post are now offering the download for the first laserdisc videogame emulated by MAME, though with various shapes and variously practical modes. The guide has been modified and updated according to the new wider availability.


Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic! Passed away the emotional fuddle for the news of the emulation of the first lasergame in the MAME history, here it is the question that necessarily follows: where to get the ginormous file in CHD format, of more than 10 Gigabytes, containing the dump of the game laserdisc? What I propose here is a brief yet useful (or at least I hope that) guide to the Internet recesses from which is currently possible to obtain this digital moloch to feed the emulator of emulators with.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati

LLOOGG, the essential web access stats

September 27, 2008 · Filed Under Guides & Reviews, Networking · Comment 

UPDATE (03/28/2014): Unfortunately LLOOGG has been closed down by its creators as explained in this news, hence the following guide has lost all its practical usefulness.


Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic! Among the offers of free on-line tools for analyzing web traffic one can find anything. There are services capable of giving an embarrassing amount of data and statistics, but who already has a good quality collector on the server of his host maybe could like to use something less verbose, focused more on the (nearly) real-time representation of basic information on the site visitors activities. Something like LLOOGG.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati

EICAR test file, antimalware testing with no collateral damages

July 28, 2008 · Filed Under Guides & Reviews, Security · Comment 

Guides & Reviews - Friendly and complete guides for software usage, reviews careful about the stuff that matters. In respect of the motto: No Panic! In the sad scenery of an absolute lack of conventions generally recognized among the antivirus and antimalware manufacturers, at least one standard does exist. An anchor that takes the official name of EICAR Standard Anti-Virus Test File and means to provide, as it’s easy to conclude, a universally valid tool to evaluate the normal working of whatever malicious software protection.

Read more

Share this post!
  • Slashdot
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati